Main navigation


The FFA Cup is a national knockout competition that includes teams from Community Level, National Premier Leagues, right through to the A-League.

The FFA Cup is run by Football Australia in conjunction with the State and Territory Member Federations in ACT, Queensland, NSW, Northern NSW, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia.

Each and every cup tie must be decided on the day, with extra time and penalties to decide results of matches drawn after 90 minutes.

Over 600 clubs play in the feeder competitions run by the states and territories. The A-League clubs join the competition in the Round of 32, alongside 22 clubs who have progressed from the ranks of the semi-professional and amateur tiers.

For full information on the FFA Cup, head to the official website:


The Preliminary Rounds of the FFA Cup conducted by Capital Football is also known as the Men’s Federation Cup. The winner of the FFA Cup Preliminary Rounds / Men’s Federation Cup will qualify for the FFA Cup Round of 32.

All NPL1 Men’s and NPL2 Men’s Clubs are required to register and participate in the Preliminary Rounds, while all State League Men’s Clubs are invited to participate in the 2021 competition.


Team Entries into the FFA Cup 2021 Capital Football Preliminary Rounds are now open. Entries close 5pm, Friday, 19 February 2021.

Match Dates

Round 3
Any day on weeks ending 7 March and 14 March 2021

Round 4
Saturday, 27 March / Sunday, 28 March / Monday, 29 March / Tuesday, 30 March / Wednesday, 31 March

Round 5
Tuesday, 27 April / Wednesday, 28 April / Thursday, 29 April / Tuesday, 4 May / Wednesday, 5 May / Thursday, 6 May 2021

Round 6
Tuesday, 18 May / Wednesday, 19 May / Thursday, 20 May 2021

Round 7
Saturday, 6 June 2021

For each round, all matches will be scheduled on one of the scheduled match dates listed above, based on venue availability and the Team’s regular competition matches.

For matches to be scheduled on a different day, both Team’s would need to agree to this change, and it would also need to be approved by Capital Football.

Matches must be played either on the scheduled match dates for each Round or prior (if approval provided), unless there are exceptional circumstances (i.e. weather) and Capital Football approves this scheduling.

Any Club drawn as the Home Team that is not able to secure an adequate venue, will be allocated a venue by Capital Football.


The Club Registration Fee to participate in the FFA Cup 2021 Capital Football Preliminary Rounds is as follows:

NPL1 Men’s & NPL2 Men’s Clubs = $825.00 (exc. GST)
SLM / CLM Clubs = $330.00 (exc. GST)


Should you have any questions or queries, please email our Competitions Coordinators Tiana Sinclair or Cristina Esposito, or contact them via phone: 02 6260 4000 

FFA Cup Resources

Find a club near you