Main navigation


The Australia Cup (formerly known as the FFA Cup) is a national knockout competition that includes teams from Community Level, National Premier Leagues, right through to the A-League.

The Australia Cup is run by Football Australia in conjunction with the State and Territory Member Federations in ACT, Queensland, NSW, Northern NSW, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia.

Each and every cup tie must be decided on the day, with extra time and penalties to decide results of matches drawn after 90 minutes.

Over 600 clubs play in the feeder competitions run by the states and territories. The A-League clubs join the competition in the Round of 32, alongside 22 clubs who have progressed from the ranks of the semi-professional and amateur tiers.

For full information on the Australia Cup, head to the official website.


The Preliminary Rounds of the Australia Cup conducted by Capital Football is also known as the Men’s Federation Cup. The winner of the Australia Cup Preliminary Rounds / Men’s Federation Cup will qualify for the FFA Cup Round of 32.

All NPL Men’s and CPL Men’s Clubs are required to register and participate in the Preliminary Rounds, while all State League Men’s Clubs are invited to participate in the 2022 competition.


Team Entries into the Australia Cup 2022 Capital Football Preliminary Rounds are as follows:

CPL and Senior League NPL
ANUFC Belconnen United FC
Belnorth FC Canberra Croatia FC
Brindabella Blues FC Canberra Olympic FC
Burns FC Gungahlin United FC
Canberra White Eagles FC Monaro Panthers FC
Majura FC O’Connor Knights FC
Queanbeyan City FC Tigers FC
Tuggeranong United FC West Canberra Wanderers FC
UC Stars
Wagga City Wanderers
Weston Molonglo FC
Woden Valley SC

Match Dates

Round 3
Saturday, 26 February / Sunday, 27 February

Saturday, 5 March / Sunday, 6 March

Round 4
Saturday, 19 March / Sunday, 20 March / Monday, 21 March

Tuesday, 22 March / Wednesday, 23 March

Round 5
Wednesday, 27 April / Thursday, 28 April

 Wednesday, 4 May / Thursday, 5 May

Round 6
Tuesday, 17 May / Wednesday 18 May / Thursday, 19 May

Round 7
Saturday, 4 June 2022

For each round, all matches will be scheduled on one of the scheduled match dates listed above, based on venue availability and the Team’s regular competition matches. For matches to be scheduled on a different day, both Team’s would need to agree to this change, and it would also need to be approved by Capital Football. Matches must be played either on the scheduled match dates for each Round or prior (if approval provided), unless there are exceptional circumstances (i.e. weather) and Capital Football approves this scheduling.

Any Club drawn as the Home Team that is not able to secure an adequate venue, will be allocated a venue by Capital Football.

Any Club drawn as the Home Team that is not able to secure an adequate venue, will be allocated a venue by Capital Football.


The Club Registration Fee to participate in the Australia Cup 2022 Capital Football Preliminary Rounds is as follows:

NPL Men’s & CPL Men’s Clubs = $825.00 (exc. GST)
SLM / CLM Clubs = $330.00 (exc. GST)


Should you have any questions or queries, please email our Competitions Coordinators Andrew Stirton or Cristina Esposito, or contact them via phone: 02 6260 4000 

Australia Cup Resources

Find a club near you