The 2016/17 W-League season draw has been released, and sees Canberra United begin their season with a bye in Week 1.

The ninth edition of the Westfield W-League will kick-off on 5 November 2016 with a 14 round regular season before culminating in the Grand Final on Sunday 12 February 2017 with FOX SPORTS and ABC Television to again broadcast 14 matches throughout the regular season.

Canberra United’s first match will come against reigning Premiers Melbourne City, as the star-studded side travel to Canberra on Saturday the 12th November.

For the first time a Westfield W-League match will be played straight after a Hyundai A-League encounter with Perth Glory and Western Sydney Wanderers FC to do battle in the opening round of the Westfield W-League at nib Stadium straight after the Round 5 Hyundai A-League match between the two clubs on Sunday 6 November.

Head of the Westfield W-League, Greg O’Rourke says the 2016/17 draw reflects the growing interest and stature of women's football in Australia.

"Having 19 double headers puts the Westfield W-League on the main stage with the Hyundai A-League and gives football fans even more opportunity to get out and experience the best Australian domestic football has to offer,” said O’Rourke.

"Women's football is an important component of FFA's Whole of Football Plan and strategy over the next 20 years and females represent over 20 per cent of registered participants.

Canberra United's Round 2 clash with Melbourne City will be held at Canberra Stadium, opening the opportunity for a bumper crowd to come and see the side in action.

More details can be found along with the full draw on the W-League website.

Canberra United Home Fixtures:

Sat 12th November: Canberra United v Melbourne City

Sat 26th November: Canberra United v Newcastle Jets

Sunday 18th December: Canberra United v Brisbane Roar

Saturday 7th January: Canberra United v Adelaide United

Saturday 14th January: Canberra United v Perth Glory

Saturday 28th January: Canberra United v Melbourne Victory